Home > PPV's, Raw, SmackDown, WWE > Night of Champions 2010 Results

Night of Champions 2010 Results

September 20, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Welcome to WWE Characters the Blog, 2010 Night of Champions PPV results page. Here you’ll find updated results from Sunday, September 19th Pay-Per-View “Night of Champions” featuring all of the titles in the WWE on the line! Results will start to be posted just after 8PM EST and updated through 11PM EST when the PPV officially goes off the air.

This year’s card will of course feature every possible title being contested and two titles (Womens/Divas) being unified. There’s plenty of compelling matches including the Six Pack Challenge for the WWE Title and No Holds Barred for the World Heavyweight Title! Both
Smackdown and Raw will be well represented on the card.

Kofi Kingston vs. Dolph Ziggler Intercontinental Champion

A stipulation is attached to this match that if Dolph Ziggler is either disqualified or counted out, he will automatically lose the title to Kofi Kingston.

In the final moments of this match, Dolph Ziggler eluded Kofi Kingston’s “Trouble in Paradise” and then was able to hit his finisher the “Zig Zag” for the win. Dolph Ziggler retains the Intercontinental Championship in a well fought match!

Winner: Dolph Ziggler wins via pinfall over Kofi Kingston to retain the Intercontinental title.

Big Show vs. CM Punk

The Chicago crowd seemed to rally behind the hometown hero CM Punk despite him berating them for their anti-straight edge ways prior to the match. In the match, Punk tried his best to use strike attacks to kick Show down, but in the end it was Big Show using his trademark KO punch to put Punk down.

Winner: Big Show wins by pinfall over CM Punk.

Daniel Bryan vs. The Miz United States Championship

In a match of former student versus teacher, Miz’s former NXT rookie Daniel Bryan challenged for the US title. Despite having his newer NXT rookie Alex Riley at ringside, The Miz was unable to capture the victory. Instead, it was Daniel Bryan locking in his Labelle Lock submission hold forcing Miz to tap out! Daniel Bryan is the new US Champion!

Winner: Daniel Bryan wins via submission hold over The Miz to become new United States Champion.

Melina vs Michelle McCool Divas and Women’s Championship Unification Lumberjill Match

In the closing moments, chaos erupted as Melina and Michelle were both on the outside. Melina managed to get back into the ring as the Lumberjills focused their attack on McCool on the outside. Meanwhile, Layla snuck into the ring and attacked Melina. Melina was able to overcome the attack and toss Layla outside the ring. Michelle McCool was able to get back into the ring and take advantage of a distracted Melina, surprising her with the attack and pinfall for the win. McCool is now the unified womens champion.

Winner: Michelle McCool wins via pinfall over Melina to become Unified Womens Champion.

The Undertaker vs. Kane World Heavyweight Championship
(No Holds Barred Match)

The Brothers of Destruction unleashed all of Hell upon each other in this No Holds Barred contest. The match was out of the ring, in the ring and all over the place. In the end, the Undertaker tried to use his trademark Tombstone Piledriver to finish off his little brother. However, Kane was ready with the reverse and hit his own Tombstone to win it! Kane retains the World Title!

Winner: Kane wins via pinfall over The Undertaker to retain the World Heavyweight Title.

Tag Team Turmoil Match

This match for the tag team championship was a Gauntley Style matchup involving a total of five tag teams. First up for the Hart Dynasty was The Usos.

In the first of the matches, The Usos got the surprise pinfall win over the current tag team champions, eliminating the Hart Dynasty from the running! Next up they dispatched of Santino Marella and Vladimir Kozlov by pinfall. The third team involved was Mark Henry and the high-flying Evan Bourne from Raw, who were able to grab a pinfall victory over The Usos. That brought in the final tag team of the match, Cody Rhodes and Drew McIntyre from Smackdown. In the end after a hard fought battle, Cody Rhodes was able to secure the victory after hitting Cross Rhodes for the pinfall. Drew McIntyre and Cody Rhodes are the new tag team champions!

Winners: Cody Rhodes & Drew McIntyre win via pinfall over Mark Henry & Evan Bourne to become new tag team champions.

WWE Championship Six Pack Elimination Challenge

Defending the title in this match is current champion Sheamus, with his opponents: John Cena, Randy Orton, Edge, Chris Jericho and Wade Barrett.

Early in the match, the wrestler who says he’s the best in the world at what he does was hit by a quick RKO by Orton. That made Jericho the very first elimination in the six pack challenge. The remaining five fought it out for some time afterwords, until Edge was able to gain momentum, hitting the Spear on both Orton and Sheamus. However, John Cena was quick to deliver an Attitude Adjustment on Edge for the second elimination of the night.

Soon afterwords, Wade Barrett’s Nexus faction arrived to the ring, providing a distraction which caused John Cena to fall prey to Barrett’s finisher. After the Wasteland Slam, John Cena was the third elimination. That left Barrett, Sheamus and Orton competing over the WWE Championship.

About two minutes after Cena’s elimination, Barrett went for his Wasteland Slam on Randy Orton. Orton was able to slide out of the move and hit a backbreaker on Barrett. He waited for Barrett to get up and then hit him with the RKO for the fourth elimination.

It’s down to Randy Orton vs Sheamus for the WWE Championship. Sheamus had been on the outside but came back into the ring to connect with his Brogue Kick to level Orton. He pinned The Viper, who managed to kick out just before three. Sheamus was irate and went for his High Cross finisher. However, Orton slipped out of that and caught him with the quick RKO. 1-2-3 Orton is your new WWE Champion!

Post-match, Orton celebrated his moment, as the new WWE Champion. The Pay-Per-View ended with Orton still celebrating, with no sign of The Miz coming to cash in his MITB briefcase.

Winner: Randy Orton wins via pinfall over Sheamus to become the new WWE Champion.

Categories: PPV's, Raw, SmackDown, WWE
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: